Rian Johnson Talks About Star Wars: Episode 8 on The TalkHouse

The TalkHouse recently did a great podcast interview with Rian Johnson who will be writing and directing Star Wars: Episode 8. While we all know J.J. Abrams is working on Episode VII, Rian will be taking over the trilogy after Abrams. It’s an unusual decision on Disney’s part, but perhaps it will be a good one when all is said and done. Now, obviously, the entire podcast wasn’t dedicated to Rian’s Star Wars project, but rather it was mostly about his new upcoming film “The Zero Theorem”. Nonetheless, let us quote the part related to Star Wars because we know that’s what you’re here for!

Rian Johnson Star Wars Episode 8When asked what it’s like to take over someone’s work (referring to Abrams), Rian said the following:

Johnson, “Well, you know, its, its been – I’m just starting into it. I’m mean so far its been nothing but, God, I mean honestly its the most fun I’ve ever had writing. Its just joyous. But also for me personally I grew up not just watching those movies, but playing with those toys, so as a little kid the first movies I was making in my head were set in this world. So, um, a big part of it is, um, that kind of direct connection. Its almost like an automatic jacking-in, back into childhood in a weird way. But I don’t know, ask me again in a few years, we’ll talk about it.”

Rian was also asked about how he felt about taking over the lead role in one of the largest franchises in movie history. He was whether or not he felt a lot of stress, to which he responded:

Johnson, “I’m figuring it out as I go. I’m dancing on top of the avalanche a little bit. So I’ll have more perspective in a while but it’s a balance of remembering what inspires you about it [the original films], but you can probably go to the wrong place by feeling too responsible to it. You have to keep your head loose enough to tell a story you actually care about […] Well, that’s been the great thing about it — Kathleen and her whole creative team have been so insistent on all the filmmakers they’ve been hiring for these new movies: ‘We want you to take it and turn it into something that you really care about.’ And we’ll see how the process plays out, but so far, that’s a big part of the reason I’m in it. Because that just seems like their attitude towards it. It’s really exciting actually.”

Rian Johnson also confirmed that Star Wars Episode 8 will be filmed in Pinewood Studio, London. We invite you to listen to the full podcast over at The TalkHouse.

Leave a Reply

